LOC@L SEO GUIDE

LOCAL SEARCH ENGINE OPTIMIZATION & ENTERPRISE SEO MADE SIMPLE

 

Yext Reviews

April 13th, 2010
19 Comments


UPDATE 11.25.12:

Since I wrote this two years ago, a lot has changed.  Yext has pivoted its business away from pay-per-call to business listings management to help you manage your yellow pages listings from a single dashboard.  The service is called Yext PowerListings.

Yext Powerlistings can automatically update your business’ information across 50+ of the top local search sites out there including Yelp, Yahoo Local, SuperPages and more.  They also now do review monitoring. It’s not free, but the amount of time it can save you is huge.  Check it out here.

Here’s their fancy graphic showing where they send their data:

Full Disclosure: I get paid every time someone buys a Powerlisting via the above link. It’s not much, but it helps keep the lights on at the blog – and I do think it’s a great service. Ok, end of shill…

One of pleasures of running this blog is watching great conversations unfold among its visitors.  Check out this amazing discussion on Yext.  If you are considering using their service it would be well worth a read.


Tags: Yext.com

19 responses so far ↓

  • 1 Alan J // Apr 28, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    Just got an email from Google that it’s monthly tags is ending and they are recommending a Yext powerlisting product. Seems different than the per call service referenced in the discussion. Google tags worked well for us, wondering whether this tags service is worthwhile or not. Maybe a new discussion will develop here!

  • 2 Andrew Shotland // Apr 29, 2011 at 7:24 am

    Alan, I would be curious to see an email from GOOG promoting YextTags. Can you send me a copy?

  • 3 Alan J // May 2, 2011 at 9:59 am

    Not a problem Andrew. I just forwarded it to you…

  • 4 Richard Constant // Sep 21, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    Andrew – I read about 100 of the reviews before I realized all the complaints were related to the “per call service”…..is there any Powerlisting feedback yet?

  • 5 Andrew Shotland // Sep 23, 2011 at 9:00 am

    Haven’t done anything regarding Yext Powerlistings as of yet. Seems like an interesting product.

  • 6 Richard Constant // Sep 23, 2011 at 1:37 pm

    As you might expect, I’d like to be very cautious with ANYTHING this company is selling, especially after reading the millions of lousy reviews!

  • 7 Edward Logan, DDS // Sep 28, 2011 at 11:29 am

    Have you looked into Yext PowerListings further? I’m searching for reviews on this service. As a dentist with a last name that could be my first name, I keep seeing too many variations of my business name listed. I prefer Edward M. Logan, DDS, but obviously directories want to list the Logan first. I’m trying to figure out if Yext PowerListings could help clean up some of the problems I am experiencing.

  • 8 Bill Davis // Oct 26, 2011 at 8:17 pm

    Stay away from Yext—PERIOD

  • 9 Gautam // Nov 21, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    I want to get more information too. Possibly to see how much this company has to offer. I do not want to burn 400 buck for nothing.

  • 10 Matt D // Nov 25, 2011 at 11:18 am

    I tried it and it’s worked well for me so far. I think their salespeople can oversell the product (it will not make you appear #1 in results!), but it has been a very worthwhile investment I plan to continue. It corrected all my listing information (including on Google after a delay) and my traffic has gone up with their special offer tag. I just wish they could get the special offer on Google as well. I’m renewing for another year and I’ll see how it goes.

  • 11 Dre // Jan 4, 2012 at 7:24 am

    I see some negative and some positive comments about YEXT, The people who advice to stay away from YEXT or had a bad experience, can you please be more specific? I’m about to spend $500 on it and don’t want to waste my money, any info will be greatly appreciated.

    Dre.

  • 12 LMR // Jan 12, 2012 at 9:08 pm

    I’ve looked all over for reviews on Powerlistings to see if it would work for our Coax Cable business. Little info other than from folks being paid to sell the service!! Being as most of our business is online I’m wondering if it is worth it. Notice there is no info on their site on the price till you give them your contact info…

  • 13 DLG // Feb 12, 2012 at 11:41 am

    I’m trying to determine if Yext is a good product as well. One user said they didn’t like it because if you don’t renew they put “do not follow” tags on your listings. I haven’t been able to verify if that is true. I’ve also been comparing them to Localeze (which I was told will give the business info to advertizer who will bug the business owner mercilessly), and UBL (which I was told was the best, but they’ve turned greedy too). I’d like to know if anyone has any comparisons on these businesses and recommendations. I’m not worried about the money as much as making sure my client isn’t trapped into something after a year or is going to be barraged by advertisers. Thanks for any help.

  • 14 James Douglas // Mar 27, 2012 at 1:32 am

    I think its time to update this thread. Yext seems to have evolved their business model and still going strong. Curious to see what people have to say in 2012.

  • 15 ERIC E // Mar 27, 2012 at 11:32 am

    I AM SERIOUSLY CONSIDERING THE YEXT POWER SEARCH ENGINE LISTING
    PRODUCT WHICH SEEMS TO BE A GREAT TOOL FOR A NON COMPUTER ORIENTED GUY LIKE MYSELF. I SPECIALIZE IN RESOLVING TAX PROBLEMS NATIONWIDE AND THIS COULD WORK WELL FOR MY OFFICE.
    ANY THOUGHTS ON YEXT FOR THIS IDEA– I HAVE READ THE BLOGS BUT THE NEGATIVE REMARKS SEEM TO BE
    ABOUT A DIFF SERVICE..THANKS.
    ERIC E

  • 16 Tomc // Apr 13, 2012 at 10:59 am

    I just signed up for their service. I do not know how it is going to work out. Any Feedback?

  • 17 Brian S // Apr 17, 2012 at 5:05 pm

    I just signed up for two of our computer repair locations for a period of 3 years. I was told I could cancel at any time and would be prorated the remaining time back. I will be monitoring web traffic and the dashboard traffic and will post updates when I can. I too am skeptical about the product, but the service seems intriguing. Hopefully it works well.

  • 18 Nayr // Dec 3, 2012 at 11:07 am

    Can I get feedback for their basic package to list business website on local listings? Any reasonable and fair review would be greatly appreciated

  • 19 Andrew Shotland // Dec 3, 2012 at 12:27 pm

    The best way to evaluate Powerlistings, IMO, is to compare it to how much time it would take you to add/update your listing to all of these services manually. While Powerlistings does not solve all of your citation consistency issues (like fixing dupes , it does speed up the process.

Leave a Comment


Comments are moderated before publishing