LOC@L SEO GUIDE

LOCAL SEARCH ENGINE OPTIMIZATION & ENTERPRISE SEO MADE SIMPLE

 

Google Places MisPlaces New Review Feeds

May 19th, 2011
9 Comments


Mike Blumenthal has some concerns re Google Places’ new user review feeds:

When was the last time you heard a reviewer ask for an RSS feed of their reviews? Well maybe some reviewer some place did… but then I suggest you follow Google’s instructions and go find it. Instead of attaching it to the obvious place in your main Google profile or making the existing review list more visible it is is hidden in your Hotpot area.

Hidden?  More like non-existent.  I just spent ten minutes looking for mine and couldn’t find squat. Problem solved.  See the comments.


Tags: Google Maps · Google Place Pages · Google Place Search · Online Maps · Online Reviews

9 responses so far ↓

  • 1 Nyagoslav // May 19, 2011 at 8:58 am

    You have to go to: google.com/hoptop/me and it will automatically redirect you to your Google Places (a.k.a. Hotpot) profile and in the lower left corner there is “Get your reviews as a feed”.

  • 2 Andrew Shotland // May 19, 2011 at 9:13 am

    Thanks. That wasn’t there yesterday.

  • 3 Mike Blumenthal // May 19, 2011 at 8:45 pm

    Google’s post directs you to google.com/hotpot and then says to click on your photo to get to that page… incredibly obtuse interface design

    I am trying to figure out still where I can get an Atom feed from MyMaps…

  • 4 Betsy Morgan // May 20, 2011 at 8:11 am

    Is there a way a business owner can get an RSS feed whenever anyone leaves a review about their business? That’s really what we’d like – some sort of Alert when a person has left a review about us.

    Thanks.
    Betsy

  • 5 Andrew Shotland // May 20, 2011 at 8:12 am

    Betsy,
    You’d have thought that would have been a much higher priority than this feature, but I imagine there might be some reluctance on GOOG’s part to do this as it would give anyone access to all of the review data they aggregate.

  • 6 Andrew Shotland // May 20, 2011 at 8:14 am

    Then again, if you could figure out all of the user id’s I suppose you could get this data from grabbing all of the user RSS feeds.

  • 7 Betsy Morgan // May 20, 2011 at 8:17 am

    I knew it would be too good to be true. Hope springs …

    Thanks!

  • 8 Nyagoslav // May 20, 2011 at 8:38 am

    I know of a cool review tool, which, although not an RSS feed, still helps in the cases with following the reviews on the main business directories for the US – Google, Bing, Yelp, Yahoo, CitySearch, and it is free: http://www.myreviewspage.com

  • 9 Betsy Morgan // May 20, 2011 at 8:43 am

    @Nyagoslav – cool tool. That will help. I’ll tell my boss. Thanks!

Leave a Comment


Comments are moderated before publishing